Kathy McIntosh:  

Regina, SK
Regina, SK
Regina, SK

Kathy's Story

Life My life prior to the last 2 years can basically be summerized by my college and work biographies. Other interesting activities include travels abroad and skiing excursions to different locations. I was fortunate to find time to travel to England, Scotland, Germany, Switzerland and Italy. It was FABULOUS! Everyone should see the leaning tower of Pisa and Stonehenge at least once in their lifetime. I also attend conferences in the USA every year funded by my graduate program. The nicest location so far has been San Diego... the weather is perfect. I am fortunate to be a member of a scientific research group based in Europe and have attended meetings in Barcelona, Belfast, Prague, Paris, Copenhagen, St. Jean de Luz and I've just returned from Croatia! Our next meeting is either in Greece or Cyprus... My husband Scott and I were married in August 2005 in the Bessborough Gardens in Saskatoon. It was truly beautiful... if you've been to Saskatoon, everyone knows about 'the castle on the river', that's where we were married and had our wedding reception. Scott is a high school english and history teacher and coaches boys' football and basketball. We enjoy spending time at the lake in the summer - the sea-doo barely gets a moments' rest! We bought a beautiful character house that overlooks the Saskatchewan River and Rotary Park in Saskatoon. That house has been both my joy AND my pain. We have repainted the entire interior. I will NEVER do that again, way to much work when you're trying to get a graduate degree, work part-time AND have a life!!! However, it is truly beautiful and I am now pleased with its appearance. We now have 'Keeva', a husky with BOUNDLESS energy! Scott has trained and competed in marathons/triathalons, and wanted a dog that could go the distance with him during training. That was the intention anyway... Since then we've adopted a second dog, 'Majerle' (named after the retired Phoenix Suns basketball player... of course. Not that I knew basketball existed before I met Scott!) Now, we train our dogs in agility and flyball. They're very smart and will practically do back-flips for a treat (dogs after their owners' heart)! We also have a cat that of course preferred the old days before the dogs came along. Scott and I are fortunate to be able to spend time in Arizona every winter because his parents are retired there. It makes for a MUCH less dreadful winter... It's also only 2 hours from the Mexican border where GREAT shopping awaits! Thanks for reading up! College My post-secondary education has been a long and somewhat fragmented journey. I started at the U of R after high school graduation and completed 2 years in biology. I then took 1 year off and worked full-time. In 1994, I moved to Saskatoon to attend the U of S, the science programs here are much stronger with more courses available. In my 3rd year of biology here, I decided that I did NOT want to take any more 'plant' biology classes and enjoyed microbiology much more than the bigger organisms. I transferred and graduated in 1998 with a B.Sc. Hon in Microbiology and Immunology with a minor in biology. After working for almost 4 years for the government (Canadian Food Inspection Agency - Centre for Animal Parasitology), I decided to go back to school full-time and start graduate studies in the Department ...Expand for more
of Microbiology in the College of Veterinary Medicine at the U of S. After 2 years in the masters program, I transferred to a Ph.D. and currently have a year left before I'm scheduled to defend my thesis. I find the research that I do to be extremely rewarding and 'cutting edge' (so to speak). This is the point where people with no interest in science or animal medicine get a glazed look over their eyes, and their thoughts drift off... BUT for the rest of us science geeks, it's COOL! We are studying a novel virus in pigs, and at this point are developing a neonatal vaccine using a new delivery system that has eventual hopes for use in human medicine. We are also characterizing a new species of gut bacteria in pigs that cause stomach ulcers similar to humans affected by H.pylori (which can be treated by antibiotics). We are testing a combination vaccine for this bacteria also. Sorry if that was a bunch of boring science mumbo-jumbo... but it will likely be the start of my life's work. The best part of working on these projects are the meetings that I attend in member (or soon to be) countries of the EU. I've spent time in Barcelona, Paris, Belfast, Prague, Copenhagen, St. Jean de Luz and Croatia. I can't argue with those kind of opportunities to travel!! Thanks for reading up! Workplace The 'work' part of my life has been a constant since I was in high school. I started teaching piano in 1988 at the Academy of Musical Education in Regina and stopped in 1994, when I moved to Saskatoon to attend the U of S. After high school, I started working weekends at the Regina Animal Clinic in addition to university and teaching piano (it was a busy time, but I knew that I wanted to work in animal science). In the year that I took off from university, before moving to Saskatoon, I worked at Dalmys Clothing Store in the Northgate Mall (it's no longer there now), in addition to teaching piano and working at the animal clinic. Once I moved to Saskatoon in 1994, I started at the U of S and working part-time at a Vet Clinic. I still work part-time at that clinic to this day (amazing how 10 years pass), but I enjoy the work and the staff. After graduating from the U of S in 1998, I started full-time with the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA)- Centre for Animal Parasitology (CAP). I love it there, and still work there part-time also since returning to school for graduate studies. I hope to go back full-time to the CFIA when I graduate next year with my PhD. I have enjoyed every job that I have had from teaching piano to animal care, and all the scientific techniques and large animals that I got to work with along the way. I am very fortunate to have worked with A LOT of different species in the last 10 years including: cats, dogs, reptiles, rodents, deer, elk, cattle, birds and currently MANY MANY pigs (yes they smell, but I work with pigs that are only days old and they are the most adorable things you've ever seen). I have not absolutely settled into the career position of my life, but have been preparing for it for a long time with schooling. I hope to be settled into a position in the next 2 years within the CFIA, a vaccine/diagnostic test development company or the level 4 Health of Canada lab working on viruses or diseases affecting humans and/or animals. Thanks for reading up!
Register for Free to view all details!
Register for Free to start a reunion event!


On our wedding day.
Me, Keeva and Majerle
Me, Jen and Sandra trying to hold up Scott!
Scott's spontaneous kiss!
Bessborough Gardens in Saskatoon
Slow motion photography
Myself and a 7 day old piglet.
Keeva and Majerle waiting anxiously for a treat!

Kathy McIntosh is on Classmates.

Register for free to join them.
Oops! Please select your school.
Oops! Please select your graduation year.
First name, please!
Last name, please!
Create your password

Please enter 6-20 characters

Your password should be between 6 and 20 characters long. Only English letters, numbers, and these characters [email protected]#$%^&* may be used in your password. Please remove any symbols or special characters.
Passwords do not match!


By clicking Submit, you agree to the Classmates Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. A password will be sent in a confirmation email to the email address you provide.

Oops an error occurred.